The Cheshire and Merseyside Cancer Alliance is funded by, and accountable to the National Cancer Programme within NHS England for the delivery of two key objectives:

  1. To plan for and lead delivery of the NHS Long Term Plan ambitions for cancer, ensuring variation in outcomes is addressed and that improvements are made across whole pathways from prevention and early detection through to treatment and support for people living with cancer; and,
  2. To provide oversight and coordination to support delivery of the constitutional waiting times standards for cancer.

Our footprint aligns with the Cheshire and Merseyside Health and Care Partnership (HCP) as the delivery ‘arm’ for cancer. We are hosted by The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust 

Role and membership of the Cancer Alliance Programme Board

Our Board was established in January 2017 to provide leadership and assurance in the delivery of the national cancer strategy, on behalf of the health and care system leadership in Cheshire and Merseyside.

All partner organisations in Cheshire and Merseyside are part of the Alliance and their interests are represented at the Cancer Alliance Board. Board membership comprises patient representation along with clinical and executive leads representing geographic areas and sectors within the cancer pathway from local authority to tertiary services.

We maintain strong links with other interdependent programmes within the Health and Care Partnership through the Board and Alliance core team.

Dr Liz Bishop, Chief Executive, The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust is the Senior Responsible Officer and Chair of the Alliance Board.

If you would like to read the minutes of CMCA's board meetings, please email:

CMCA Board Members

Liz Bishop

SRO & Alliance Executive Lead (Chair)

Chris Warburton

Medical Director

Jon Hayes

Managing Director

Sinead Clarke

Cheshire Lead

Nikki Stevenson

Wirral Lead

Fiona Taylor

North Mersey Chief Executive

Steve Fenwick

North Mersey Clinical Lead

Ann Marr

Mid Mersey Chief Executive

Andrew Crawshaw

NHS England and NHS Improvement - Director of Assurance

Claire McQueen

Representing Andrew Crawshaw

Andrea Doherty

Planned Care and Cancer Manager - NHS England

Andrew Bibby

NHS England Specialised Commissioning - Director

Jo Downie

Representing Andrew Bibby

Ray Murphy

User Representatives

Tony Murphy

User Representatives

Sheena Khanduri


Terry Jones

Research and Innovation Lead

Debbie Harvey

Primary Care Lead

Sarah Johnson-Griffiths

Prevention and Public Health Lead

Rob Cooper

Operational Lead / Chief Operating Officer

Sarah Barr

Digital Programme Lead / Chief Information Officer

Dave McKinlay

Associate Director

Tracey Wright

Associate Director

Greg O'Mara

Associate Director

Su Sethi

Public Health Consultant 

Mark  Bakewell

Finance Lead

Clare Byrne

Clinical Nurse Specialist – Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Lesley Neary

Chief Operating Officer – Southport & Ormskirk Hospitals

Alex Crowe

Medical Director – Warrington & Halton Hospital

Emer Scott

Associate Director of Strategic Marketing & Comms – Clatterbridge Cancer Centre